Krause Publications Announces 2013 Coin of the Year Winners

December 5, 2012 in Coins, Gold, Gold Coins, Silver, Silver Coins, World Coins

By Lisa Bellavin  December 05, 2012 ( Krause Publications)

Krause Publications, a leading publisher of coin and paper money books, magazines, and other reference products, has announced the winners of its 2013 Coin of the Year Awards.

Ninety-nine coins issued in 2011 by mints and national banks worldwide were nominated for the 2013 Coin of the Year Awards, honoring coins displaying the highest achievement in theme, design and marketing. Judges picked winners in 10 categories. From these, they will select an overall Coin of the Year winner. The 10 category winners for 2013 are as follows:

The award of Most Historically Significant coin was given to the National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic for their 10 Som, silver coin commemorating the Silk Road. (KM# 48)

Best Contemporary Event coin was awarded to the Austrian Mint for its 25 Euro silver and niobium coin celebrating the evolution of robotics. (KM# 3204)

The South African Mint was awarded the honor of Best Gold coin, for it’s 50 Rand gold featuring the meerkat. It is part of the Mint’s Natura series entitled “Nature’s Families”. (KM#511)

The Royal Canadian Mint claimed the award for Best Silver coin for its 20 Dollar silver coin, which features a canoe in the water and it’s reflection. (KM# 1176)

Monnaie de Paris will take home the award for Best Crown coin. It is the second issue in a new series called “From Clovis to Republic – 1500 Years of French History”. It was created by famed fashion designer Christian Lacroix, and features Charlemagne. (KM# 1802)Best Trade coin was awarded to the National Bank of Lithuania for a 1 Litas copper-nickel coin honoring the sport of basketball. (KM# 177)

The Most Popular coin of 2011 was awarded to the National Bank of Mongolia for its 500 Togrog silver coin featuring an owl with crystal eyes. A previous coin of the series featuring the wolverine was awarded the overall Coin of the Year award in 2009. (KM# 309)

Full Article>

Share Button

Comments are closed.

Translate »